Photoshop Skills Continued

We was set a task to produce 2 more images (3 in total) of combining an old classical painting into a modern day scene. I had already created one image which can be seen in the previous blog post. I am currently refreshing my Photoshop skills as I have not used it for a few years, so this task is a good way of jogging my memory and getting used to using the programme again. This is by far the most enjoyable task of my course so far as I found it  creative and also very unique.

Here are the remaining 2 images I created –

street-graffiti

For this image, I decided I really wanted to produce an image out of the ordinary to give it a lot of character. I put an old traditional classical painting of a male figure wearing very smart, old fashioned bright clothing into a dark, grimy modern day ally with graffiti spray painted onto the walls. I thought this image was interesting due to both the man and scenery would never been seen together in reality.

I also experimented with creating a shadow that had 2 angles, one on the floor and then one going up the wall to give the effect the light is protruding from the left.

man-and-dog

For the last image I edited, I decided to go for a different type of image from my previous two edits. I had a figure laying on the floor, one standing up and now I have decided to have one sitting down. Also the inclusion of a pet dog gave a different aspect to the image. I wanted a picture of a bench at the right angle to give the effect that the classical figure really is sitting on the bench and a part of reality.

Leave a comment